Nanyang Kindergarten was founded in July 1934. At that time, it was affiliated to Nanyang Girls’ High School. Nanyang Kindergarten is believed to have been the first Chinese kindergarten in the whole of the Malayan Peninsula at that time. The school premises were used as a field office by the British Army during the Second World War, and its facilities were subsequently destroyed during the Japanese Occupation of Singapore. After the war, with the concerted and dedicated efforts of the Board of Directors, management, staff and alumni, the School was slowly restored to its former glory. Nanyang Kindergarten grew and evolved into an independent entity of its own in 1960, marked by its historic move into 118 King’s Road in the same year.
It was the vision of our wise predecessors to provide quality education for students from kindergarten through to high school. Nanyang Kindergarten shares the same rich heritage of the Nanyang Family which comprises Nanyang Kindergarten, Nanyang Primary School and Nanyang Girls’ High School. Nanyang Kindergarten has a well established tradition and owes its present achievements to the hard work and dedication of the Board of Directors, management, staff, alumni and community leaders over the years.